Rules are Meant to be Broken

Greetings.

It had been a while since I’ve been here, hadn’t it? Sorry.

This time, there’s no moaning about teenagers these days. Today, I’m going to talk about people in general. As in, Indonesians. Or, infrastructure. Both, actually. These photos will start from my journey home from school chronologically.

this could be very dangerous. seriously.

this could be very dangerous. seriously.

This sidewalk is one that I often use to and from school. When I’m running out of time, I obviously would run so that I won’t miss the gate, yes? And what if, what if, I slipped on that dangerous, broken sidewalk, and ended up with a sprained ankle? Guys?

fading crossroad. thank you so much for making crossing the road even riskier.

fading crosswalk. thank you so much for making crossing the road even riskier.

umm... how am i supposed to walk? school did tell me not to step on the grass. well...

umm… how am i supposed to walk? school did tell me not to step on the grass. well…

not very convenient to walk by the side of it.

not very convenient to walk by the side of it.

it should have had a sidewalk, but instead turned into a parking lot and us pedestrians had to walk on the tarmac.

it should have had a sidewalk, but instead turned into a parking lot and us pedestrians had to walk on the tarmac.

there's a clear "NO PARKING" sign, and yet they still park their bikes. ON THE SIDEWALK. smart enough?

there’s a clear “NO PARKING” sign, and yet they still park their bikes. ON THE SIDEWALK. smart enough?

i had almost fallen victim to this mud twice. possibly more.

i had almost fallen victim to this mud twice. possibly more.

that spare tyre, although necessary, isn't really comfortable when it comes to a full car. thankfully, there were only two of us at the moment.

that spare tyre, although necessary, isn’t really comfortable when it comes to a full car. thankfully, there were only two of us at the moment.

by this moment, we were stuck in a traffic jam. that traffic light? does nothing.

by this moment, we were stuck in a traffic jam. that traffic light? does nothing.

and then i realized that this public trans car doesn't have a trash bin. many of public trans car nowadays do, so it was a bit weird, but not exactly surprising.

and then i realized that this public trans car doesn’t have a trash bin. many of public trans car nowadays do, so it was a bit weird, but not exactly surprising.

this is a public trans car of another route than the one i took. see that red block? it was specifically made for motorbikes.

this is a public trans car of another route than the one i took. see that red block? it was specifically made for motorbikes.

another broken sidewalk halfway to my home. i had been there to use that sidewalk; i didn't like it.

another broken sidewalk halfway to my home. i had been there to use that sidewalk; i didn’t like it.

another broken sidewalk. I'm never tired of this. (lies. I am.)

another broken sidewalk. I’m never tired of this. (lies. I am.)

look closely to your right. you can see there are kiosks on the side of the road, yes? they're on top of sidewalks, so when you walk there, you can see absolutely nothing of the outer world.

look closely to your right. you can see there are kiosks on the side of the road, yes? they’re on top of sidewalks, so when you walk there, you can see absolutely nothing of the outer world.

no turning around sign and yet it still turns around.

no turning around sign and yet it still turns around.

no turning around sign and yet it still turns around. [2]

no turning around sign and yet they still turn around. [2]

And now I’m off from the public transportation! From there, all I have to do is cross the road and walk a few meters. But it won’t be fun without a little inconvenience, wouldn’t it? 😀

sometimes, this bamboo pile is burned. I don't really mind, actually, but the thing is they burn this pile right behind the crosswalk. that, people, is annoying.

sometimes, this bamboo pile is burned. I don’t really mind, actually, but the thing is they burn this pile right behind the crosswalk. that, people, is annoying.

Then there’s the crossing itself. I am no coward at crossing the road, but I have to be really aware of my surroundings because as time goes, there are less people who would stop their vehicles to let a schoolgirl cross. Seriously. I can’t count how many times I had to run because the driver was shouting at me to get on it–mostly because I was scared of getting hit so I had to wait before another vehicle to stop.

another fading crosswalk on the other side of the road. sighs.

another fading crosswalk on the other side of the road. sighs.

if earlier we encounter broken sidewalks, this time, there's absolutely NO sidewalk at all.

if earlier we encounter broken sidewalks, this time, there’s absolutely NO sidewalk at all.

This no sidewalk thing is bugging me the most because I use this way to go everywhere (when using public transportation) because I’m avoiding the dogs in my street. However, using this road with no sidewalk means I have to race against cars and motorcycles in order to walk, and they usually don’t want to lose. Especially in rush hour, since there’s no apparent sidewalk anywhere until about a hundred meters or so ahead, the vehicles move more left and left until there’s barely any space for me to walk. Yes, being a pedestrian is easy here.

That’s for the rant today!

Love and peace,

D. 😉

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Addition: a school bus I encountered! Too bad they don’t go near my school or else I’d get a free ride. 😦

DSC_0346[1]

.

.

.

.

.

Pictures are from my personal documents. Featured image was taken from here.

Leave a Reply

